Tuesday, July 08, 2008

Plug: THE SHIRLEY JACKSON AWARDS Fund raiser at KGB bar July 23rd


Leading authors read from Shirley Jackson canon to commemorate 60th anniversary of “The Lottery” July 23rd at KGB Bar

In honor of Shirley Jackson, Ellen Datlow will be hosting a reading of Shirley Jackson’s work by award-winning and leading authors of the dark fantastic and horror on July 23rd at the KGB Bar,85 East 4th Street (just off 2nd Ave, upstairs in New York City). Proceeds from the event will benefit the Shirley Jackson Awards.

Shirley Jackson(1916-1965)wrote the classic novels The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery,” first published June 28, 1948 in The New Yorker.

Authors reading from Ms. Jackson’s work are:

F. Brett Cox -- recent stories published in Black Static and Postscripts.

Jeffrey Ford -- author The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque, The Girl in the Glass, The Shadow Year.

Jack Ketchum -- author of Joyride, Red, and Hide and Seek.

Carrie Laben’s --nominee in the short story category for the 2007 Shirley Jackson Awards.

John Langan-- Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters, is forthcoming from Prime Books.

Sarah Langan--author of The Keeper and The Missing

Peter Straub-- author of seventeen novels, including Ghost Story, Koko, Mr. X, In the Night Room, and two collaborations with Stephen King.

David Wellington-- author of Monster Island, 13 Bullets, and 99 Coffins.

Jack Womack-- is the author of Ambient, Terraplane, Heathern, Elvissey, Random Acts of Senseless Violence, Let’s Put the Future Behind Us, and Going, Going, Gone.

An evening of live readings from Ms. Jackson’s work will take place at KGB Bar, beginning at 7pm and ending by 9pm. The cover charge is $5 per person.

The Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The 2007 Shirley Jackson Awards will be presented on Sunday, July 20th 2008, at Readercon 19 in Burlington, Massachusetts.


No comments: